Dinners Adrift

Sharing thoughts about food and travel!

Azerbaijan May 31, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Island girl @ 3:03 pm

Until this week I’m not sure I had ever heard of Azerbaijan. I couldn’t have told you  that it was located on the Caspian Sea and I couldn’t have told you the capital is Baku. Now I can! I love learning about a new country. Especially one that sounds so interesting. The food, culture and nightlife of the capital entice me to one day visit.

YARPAQ DOLMAS

We love stuffed grape leaves and happen to have some in the fridge so we will make them again. This time we will use ground lamb; usually we make them vegetarian.  A great site to turn to for a collection of Azerbaijan meals is the AZ Cookbook by Farida.  It also includes recipes from other countries. You must have Saffron when making Azerbaijani rice dishes.

More information on Azerbaijan cuisine.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.